Creative Solution/Partnership with a young farmer in Benton County


Land Seeker Description

I’m a 24-year-old non-binary individual who is in the beginning stages of their farming journey in the Corvallis area! Looking for partnership with experienced individuals, creative solutions, and mentorship opportunities. I’m especially interested in organic farming methods, permaculture, community building, learning about & honoring Indigenous knowledge of land stewardship, biodynamic farming, food forests, building basic structures & natural building, apiculture, value-added products, herb & mushroom farming, and habitat restoration for the local ecology. I have a deep passion for the natural world, land stewardship, community, and earth-based spiritual perspectives; for me, farming & spirituality go hand-in-hand. Queer/LGBTQIA+. Additionally, I am one of the co-creators and co-guardians of a local and ever-evolving community circle gathering that meets weekly. We have been gathering for ~1.5 years, and when we gather we explore a variety of different topics, many of which speak to themes of ecological healing, grief, and restoration of the nature-human relationship. We also tend to incorporate various arts & crafts projects as potential pathways to healing. It is my life’s dream to weave together my passion for stewarding the land and my passion for community organizing. It’s not a requirement for me, but I would love if our gathering would be welcome to meet on the land that you & I tend!

What features of the property are essential?

Water, electricity.

Describe your farming experience

I have smatterings of farming experience throughout my life:
- For most of the year in 2023, I work-traded on a small-scale organic u-pick farm in the Corvallis area where I engaged in a variety of farm-related tasks such as: taking care of animals (horses, chickens, goat, pig, cats), aesthetically maintaining the property, prepping fields and planting cover crops, weeding & mulching, minor maintenance projects, and driving the tractor.
- Last Spring I helped a good friend for several weeks with the early implementation of their permaculture design on their regenerative farm in the West Salem area.
- I've taken various classes and workshops through OSU & the Master Gardener's program.
- A couple years ago I planned & successfully managed my own community garden plot.
- I've volunteered several times with a local organization that focuses on habitat restoration.
- I grew up helping my mom with her huge vegetable & flower garden and in the greenhouses.
- I've worked one season (and am about to start my second) working at a local wholesale nursery in the perennial section, March-June. 

My Future Endeavors:
- Always striving to educate myself through reading, YouTube, community workshops, etc. I would love for a space to try things out and put the things I'm learning into practice!
- I have plans to get my Permaculture Design Certificate through OSU this year.

Are you currently farming?


What are your short term goals for the land

I'm very open to negotiation on this and finding a way to move forward in the business of farming that works for everyone involved. I would love to have animals present and a place for community to gather. I would also love for much of our food needs to be provided by the plants we grow, potentially in the form of a food forest.

What are your long term goals

My long-term plans and dreams include finding a place for a community to live, gather, and tend the land together. It could be a place for us to learn together, to share our knowledge, and also to simply live life with one another. I envision a place where we each have the personal space that we feel is most comfortable for us, but we share in many communal activities such as growing & storing food, taking care of animals, cooking together, building structures, and both celebrating and grieving together through life's natural cycles.

Describe your housing needs

Flexible. I currently live off & on out of my converted Subaru, renting rooms in shared houses, camping, staying on friends' property, etc. I prefer to have my own space/room but I'm open to negotiation.

What will you do as a farmer to ensure a safe and welcoming environment for everyone on your farm and in your community?

As a non-binary/queer person myself, this is extremely important to me. I value open and honest feedback and communication, especially around these topics. I tend to keep my distance from anyone who is knowingly and actively engaged in historically oppressive systems such as patriarchy, white supremacy, late-stage capitalism, and colonization.

Additional Land Seeker Details

Regions interested in farming:

Acreage desired:
Less than 1 acre, 1 - 5 acres, 5 - 10 acres, 11 - 20 acres, 21+ acres

Seeking land access by:
February 12, 2024

Interested in raising the following crops / livestock:
Beans, Bees, Berries, Dairy, Fiber Animals, Flowers, Goats, Grain, Herbs, Mushrooms, Nuts, Orchard/Fruit, Poultry, Vegetables, Vineyard

Interested in these business arrangements:

Interested in these growing practices:
Certified Organic, Organic, Not Certified, Biodynamic, Dry Farming, Season Extension, 7

Date when this profile was last modified or created:
February 20, 2024

To contact a land seeker, you must first create a land listing and have it approved by our staff. Thank you.